Galena, Illinois Page2
Photos/text this page courtesy of Lee Hohenstein, Omaha NE Please contact Webmaster for use of these photos |
![]() |
![]() |
|
(May 2010) Enlarge A view of Main Street in downtown Galena whose downtown district is on the National Register of Historic Places. Founded as a town in 1826 and admitted to the Union that same year, it attracted miners to mine the rich lead deposits located in the area |
(May 2010) Enlarge John Dowling built his native limestone house in 1826 which served as both a home and a trading post. It is Galena's oldest stone structure and open to the public |
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
(May 2010) Enlarge The Illinois Central Railroad Depot was built in 1839 and now serves as a visitor center |
(May 2010) Enlarge The DeSoto House Hotel opened in 1855 with five floors and a second floor balcony |
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
(May 2010) The top two floors were removed during hard economic times in 1880 |
(May 2010) Enlarge The DeSoto House Hotel today |
Galena Page1 Page2 Page3 Page4 Page5 Page6 Page7 Next